(Halo)²

From everything geeky to downright eerie

Ga-Rei -Zero- – 喰霊-零-

Posted by FuyuKaze on December 8, 2009

The Japanese Ministry of Defense has an anti-paranormal special forces group called the Paranormal Disaster Countermeasure Headquarters. They’re the ones responsible to protect Japanese soil and its people from supernatural and paranormal events. However, things didn’t go so well in one of their missions, which leads to intervention by the Ministry of Enviroment’s Supernatural Disaster Countermeasures Division after the PDCH has sustained large numbers of casualties battling demons.

Seriously, this is what happens when I stop watching Anime for awhile. I mean, I just watched this a few days ago and I was like, where the hell was I when this came out. Then I just remembered, yeah, school work was a killer for me when I was in Cegep. Funny thing is, it is actually quite calm at University right now. Anyways, back to the point at hand.

Seriously, the first episode got me hooked right away and I marathon-ed it that same day. And I was not really disappointed as the series did not decline in their ‘awesomeness factor’. A strong and solid storytelling is in this one and this thing doesn’t pull any punches. A long ass in medias res anyone? I honestly thought that they’d revert back because of the good old ‘friendship’ overcomes all and the whatnot. But I was rather surprised to see the ruthlessness in this series.

The characters, in my opinion, also looked cool. White eyed man using drills as a weapon, business man using his suitcases as a weapon, twins using cannons as their weapons and have screws in their faces? Seriously, this is awesome, well, in my opinion that is. And oh yea, Zombie appears! And those creatures look way too cool as well. And let’s not get started with the fight scenes! Oh and blood splashing here and there!! And what came to me as ‘way too cool’ was the wheelchair-ed leader of the Ministry of Environment. That’s what she is right? Seriously, those scenes were rather boring for me and I kind of dozed off during those short but frequent scenes.

Overall, I do say that this is a must watch. Fighting here and there, some seriousness with the whole references to units, organisations and ministries here and there, the yuri here and there (that scene was funny and I thought it would have been spaghetti instead) and the animation is just top notch. Once again, my personal opinion. But as usual, I provide those that have not seen this either a little gallery to judge whether or not this is worth your time… Apparently the manga was crap >.>




























2 Responses to “Ga-Rei -Zero- – 喰霊-零-”

  1. Piper said

    Actually, the manga is just very different from the anime. In my opinion, it’s better; but if you go into expecting the same as Ga-Rei Zero, you’ll be disappointed.

    • FuyuKaze said

      Yea, I just started reading it a few minutes ago. And from what I can see, I’m guessing that this is actually a prequel to the manga? Anyways, I’m actually liking it a lot, just read some people saying they didn’t like the manga as much but as usual, my preference of the manga over the anime prevails!!

Leave a Reply

 
