(Halo)²

From everything geeky to downright eerie

A Weekend in Montreal – 01

Posted by Apocalyptic Bukkake on June 21, 2009

null

Well, I would have posted this one up a while ago, but due to many factors that stopped me from posting this long photo article. I do admit that this sort of thing was inspired by Danny Choo, but I would also like to add that Montreal is also full of otaku-related events. It may be rare, but there are still going on. There are also a whole bunch of “cracked-out”, or strange if you will, things that are around Montreal. Rambling aside, I now present you with “A Weekend in Montreal”.

null

I do note that most of the pictures are in black and white. The pictures are in such a state due to the fact that I’m a such a geek to the point where I view my memories like I read a manga. It will be in black and white, and pictures in this state has a stronger sense of nostalgia whenever I look back at them.

null

Along the way to the location of Montreal’s 6th cosplay photoshoot, we ended up getting misled by one of the ones in charge, so we had to take a longer time getting to the Botannical Garden.

null

More walking ensued. Have any of you gotten lost with a large group of people? The last time I ended up being really lost was when Fuyukaze and I got off at the wrong stop by using a night bus we weren’t familiar with on prom night.

null

The webbing of the toes in the picture above freaked me out a bit. Looking back at it, it just makes me laugh.

null

A test shot of the flowers outside of the metro’s window. The picture looks a lot better in black and white.

null

We finally arrived at the right exit of Pie-IX metro.

null

The building across the street is the Biodome. It’s a gigantic indoor zoo and it is one of Montreal’s hottest tourist spots. I remember last year when my ex-girlfriend and I brought this one Japanese exchange student. We ended up buying her a penguin plush. Oddly, she named it Naruto.

null

The botannical garden was conveniently close to the Biodome.

null

Carrying an SLR sized camera this day was such a pain. Thank God I ended up buying a Lumix DMC-ZS1. It doesn’t feel as awkward as taking pictures with such a huge camera.

null

The flowers were very beautiful. Although, I would never bother to taking care of that many flowers due to the amount of money I could be using for buying more collectibles, such as figures, gundam models and more figures.

null

I thought this looked quite funny and strange at the time as well.

null

null

null
We took a long time standing in line since the organizers were trying to get us all in for a cheaper price, well, the students anyways. *grins while scratching the back of my head*

null

Despite the beautiful view of the garden path, this was around the time it started raining cats and dogs. Luckily, Fatal Pancit’s camera was still in good condition, even after this rainy day.

null

A cool looking statue of the lion.

null

Everyone, including myself, was relieved to find shelter from the pouring rain.

null

Everyone is trying to get dry while preparing their costumes.

null

null

null

Unfortunately for this Naruto cosplayer, she seems to be getting wet. I forgot why she was out there. I think Charlene, the one cosplaying as Soi Fong was trying to organize the first group photo and asking for volunteers.

null

null

The ones who weren’t cosplaying nor taking pictures, ended up with holding umbrellas for the photographers.

null

A plastic poncho???

null

null

One of the better photographers from this photoshoot. His name is Henry Wong and he usually takes pictures for Dawson on a weekly basis, I believe. More of his pictures can be seen on his various webpages.

null

Some scenery from the chinese part of the botannical garden.

null

null

null

A wide selection of bonzai trees.

null

Everybody mingling amongst themselves while drying up from having their pictures taken in the rain.

null

I split up from the group for a bit, since no one was taking pictures, in order to explore a bit.

null

Only to find tiny figures of horsemen.

null

“I have decided to be a fisherman, father! There is nothing that you can say about that!”

“I have no son!”

null

“So…what do you want to do?”

“I don’t know, what do you want to do?”

null

The imperial figures seems to be in a glass case in a glass case.

null

Back at L2 in order to eat, drink some bubble tea and for some to change into another costume.

null

More people have come to meet up with us in the Palais des Congres. Palace of Congress for an english translation? I don’t know, I don’t bother trying to improve my french anymore. Selective memory isn’t as great as it seems.

null

Henry ended up suggesting we do a photoshoot in the parking lot. Not a bad idea, since the rain was still pouring, even during this time.

null

Someone was trying to tie this girl’s obi on her yukata. Unfortunately, the cosplayer in the yukata just decided to not tie her obi anymore.

null

null

Two cosplayers trying to act out the Sasuke meets Itachi scene from Naruto. The one where Sasuke is being choked on the wall by Itachi. Fangirls may squeal at the image now.

null

Ryuugu Rena, eh? Well, cosplaying is all about getting into character and making the costume look good…right?

null

After taking pictures in front of the fountain of the palais des congres, we were all waiting for something special.

null

That being a fountain being on fire. Tis only happens every thirty minutes, on the hour and on the 30. This marks the end of the photoshoot.

null

Here I met up with two of my friends: Rayne Asakura, the designer of this blog’s logo and Fatal Pancit, the future photographer of this blog. Why future? Well, that’s for you all the find out.

null

Us three were at McGill metro, after looking at various video games before we went out to eat somewhere in Mont Royal, the plateau of that area.

null

Strangely enough, there was this one green buddha on the side of this building.

null

Rayne is doing a typical asian pose in front of the mentionned building.

null

Which ends up being a Japanese restaurant call Tampopo. Will try to go try it out soon. Rayne is the one on the left while Fatal Pancit is on the right.

null

An artsy photo taken by Fatal Pancit. Looks much cooler in black and white.

null

After we ate, we decided to go walk around and take pictures of whatever stupid/interesting things we see along the way. We all started laughing at the child’s position in the poster above.

null

A priceless photo with these friends of mine. The metal bar does have a cool design though.

null

Hmm..casa tapas, is that in spanish, Fuyukaze? If so, what does it mean?

null

A very intellectual and heterosexual pose with these two gentlemen.

null

One very conservative poster? Either way, looks very strange and funny.

null

Hmm…I thought Fatal Pancit was the designated photographer? Oh well. Another mature pose.

null

Cool graffiti right here. Despite the many protests of other, art that was well made on wall deserve props, even if it is a crime.

null

Rayne’s kindred spirit???

null

Fortunately, you can’t see plumber butt on me. The bench had a cool amount of pictures though. Unfortunately, I can’t remember why.

null

What an ominous looking face.

null

It says “No graffiti please =)”. Oh well.

null

My attempt at commiting foreplay with those gigantic lips.

null

My first attempt failed, so I approached it in a different manner. I think that drawing is a woman…I think.

null

Spooky. ^^

null

Even spookier.

null

The whole view. Pretty cool eh? It’s around St. Laurent street. If you’re a montrealer or if you’re visiting montreal, you should probably check this street out. Especially in the summer, due to the amount of festivities that happen on that street.

null

Fatal Pancit and I promoting a few X-rated videos.

null

I’ve always wanted to watch this. I keep hearing that this movie was just hilarious.

null

Rayne summoning flames? Isn’t that contradicting?

null

I want to try Odaki out. Apparently, it’s really popular in montreal.

null

Another cracked out graffiti. Cocks Roosters being conducted by a cock maestro.

null

Stare?

null

I only realized that the thing above his bandana is his mouth with his teeth sticking out. I always thought it was a necklace. What would you notice from this photo?

null

Fatal Pancit taking pictures of those taking pictures.

null

null

Fatal Pancit’s attempt of doing something artsy. Unfortunately, it wasn’t so artsy, but I do like this photo though.

null

I was amazed to hear that a place in montreal, that serves chicken, actually has corn bread. All that place is missing is grape drink/soda, waffles and maybe a watermelon stand in front of it. No racial.

null

We were trying to get back to Sherbrooke metro due to fatigue and hunger.

null

A cool looking graffiti, once again.

null

Public Oppai?

null

While we crossed this park, we ended up meeting up with nice people, despite the fact that they were pot heads. They were pretty cool and they were the type that’s actually fighting to allow the legaliztion of marujuana in Montreal. In my opinion, pot is like alcohol, you have to learn how to do it in a responsible manner.

null

The last graffiti of that day. Looks cool though. It reminds me of going to “Vent d’Osaka”. It’s an all you can eat sushi buffet. It may probably go on Fuyukaze’s recommendation list in the future. Not really sure about that.

null

The last picture I took of that weekend. I wonder what next will this weekend bring?

Leave a Reply

 
