(Halo)²

From everything geeky to downright eerie

Astro Boy 2009 – Movie

Posted by FuyuKaze on April 4, 2009

After the whole Dragonball live action bit and the April fools, which I caught on due to the date, of the Inuyasha live action to feature Kristin Kreuk, Tom Felton and Eliza Dushku; the Gargoyle’s live action movie (if only this was true, would have been nice to see one of my favorite old cartoons to come back in action) and some others – I decided to check up on some upcoming movies that might interest me in any way. Before I move on, to read the whole April fool’s post click here – I would like to congratulate the author as it had me going for a minute or two before remembering the date – it was nicely executed.

Astro Boy 2009
Starring: Nicolas Cage, Donald Sutherland, Nathan Lane, Bill Nighy, Eugene Levy, Freddie Highmore
Director: David Bowers

Astro Boy was created by the “god of manga,” Japan’s Osamu Tezuka, in the early 1950s. The animated television series first aired in 1963 in Japan and found great acclaim and success around the world. In the U.S., it quickly became a top syndicated children’s show. The iconic character’s fame grew in the 1980s and 2003 with two new Astro Boy TV series attracting new generations of fans.

Astro Boy tells the story of a powerful robot boy created by a brilliant scientist in the image of the son he has lost. Our hero journeys to find acceptance in the human world, and ultimately discovers true friendship as he uses his incredible powers to help others and save Metro City from destruction.
Via Scifimoviepage

An oldie from the 80’s and quite a memorable one I watched during my childhood. When I heard that Astroy Boy will be coming out to theaters – I was slightly excited – knowing that it might face the harsh and epic failure that is quite known throughout Hollywood’s adaptation. Nevertheless – I will see how this one turns out when it comes out. For now, I think I should worry more about the upcoming Dragonball live action (which is already really bad in my eyes) to come out to theaters so I can watch it in complete horror.

For those who do not know of Astro Boy – I will remain quiet in my comments.

One Response to “Astro Boy 2009 – Movie”

  1. […] video game based on the new Astro Boy movie is being developped by a company called “The […]

Leave a Reply

 
